Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 29/09/2010 4:50:00 PM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name FLINDERS
State Victoria
Elected Member Hunt, G (LP) 2001-
Name Derivation Named after Matthew Flinders 1774-1814, well-known navigator and explorer. The adoption of the name Australia is due to him.
First Proclaimed / Election 1900/1901
Area 1955 sq. kms
Demographic Rural
Pre-Election Seat Status Fairly Safe
Seat Status Fairly Safe
Enrolment 100,852
Turnout 93.60%
Informal 4.13%
Location Flinders covers an area of approximately 1 955 sq km from Portsea in the south west to Mt Martha, Baxter, Cranbourne South, Kooweerup and Lang Lang along the northern sector to San Remo and Dalyston in the south east. The division surrounds and encompasses Western Port Bay including French Island and Phillip Island. The main towns include Rye, Rosebud, Dromana, Hastings, Baxter, Kooweerup, Nyora (part), Cowes, San Remo and Dalyston (part).
Products and Industry Steel-rolling mill, dairy farms, fishing, poultry, wineries, orchards, light industries and tourist industries.

Hunt, G (LP) 2001-
Reith, P (LP) 1984-2001
Chynoweth, R L (ALP) 1983-1984
Reith, P (LP) 1982-1983
Lynch, P R (LP) 1966-1982
Lindsay, R W L (LP) 1954-1966
Ewert, K W W (ALP) 1952-1954
Ryan, R S (UAP/LP) 1940-1952
Fairbairn, J V (UAP) 1933-1940
Bruce, S M (UAP) 1931-1933
Holloway, E J (ALP) 1929-1931
Bruce, S M (NAT) 1918-1929
Irvine, W H (ANTI-SOC/LIB/NAT) 1906-1918
Gibb, J (FT) 1903-1906
Groom, A C (FT) 1901-1903

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Linking to the AEC  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top