Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 15/09/2010 3:58:49 PM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name LALOR
State Victoria
Elected Member Gillard, J (ALP) 1998-
Name Derivation Named after Peter Lalor 1827-89, leader of the Eureka Stockade rebellion in 1854. In 1855 he was elected to the Victorian Legislative Council (one of the first representatives elected from the goldfields).
First Proclaimed / Election 1948/1949
Area 991 sq. kms
Demographic Outer Metropolitan
Pre-Election Seat Status Safe
Seat Status Safe
Enrolment 116,976
Turnout 94.08%
Informal 6.24%
Location Lalor covers an area of approximately 991 sq km from Toolern Vale in the north to Werribee South and Point Cook in the south. From Melton West, Parwan and Little River in the west to Diggers Rest (part), Plumpton, Rockbank and Laverton in the east. The main suburbs and towns include Brookfield, Diggers Rest, Exford, Eynesbury, Hoppers Crossing, Kurunjang, Laverton, Laverton North, Little River (part), Mambourin, Melton, Melton South, Melton West, Mount Cottrell, Parwan (part), Plumpton (part), Point Cook, Quandong, Rockbank (part), Tarneit, Toolern Vale (part), Truganina (part), Werribee, Werribee South and Wyndham Vale.
Products and Industry Heavy industries, small industries, market gardening, grazing, cropping, thoroughbred horses, tertiary education, Werribee Mercy Hospital, University of Melbourne Veterinary School and Agriculture & Food Technology Precinct.

Gillard, J (ALP) 1998-
Jones, B O (ALP) 1977-1998
Cairns, J F (ALP) 1969-1977
Lee, M W (LP) 1966-1969
Pollard, R T (ALP) 1949-1966

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Linking to the AEC  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top