Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 7/09/2010 3:22:59 PM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name COWAN
State Western Australia
Elected Member Simpkins, L (LP) 2007-
Name Derivation Named after Edith Cowan 1861-1932, the first female member of an Australian parliament, being elected to the Western Australia Legislative Assembly as the Member for West Perth 1921-24.
First Proclaimed / Election 1984
Area 180 sq. kms
Demographic Outer Metropolitan
Pre-Election Seat Status Marginal
Seat Status Fairly Safe
Enrolment 89,536
Turnout 94.23%
Informal 5.12%
Location Cowan covers an area of approximately 180 sq km from Banksia Grove in the north to Malaga in the south. The division covers parts of three Local Government areas - the City of Joondalup, the City of Wanneroo and the City of Swan. It includes the suburbs of Alexander Heights, Ashby, Ballajura, Banksia Grove (part), Cullacabardee, Darch, Girrawheen, Gnangara, Greenwood, Hocking, Jandabup, Kingsley, Koondoola, Landsdale, Madeley, Malaga, Marangaroo, Mariginiup (part), Pearsall, Sinagra, Tapping, Wangara, Wanneroo, Warwick and Woodvale.
Products and Industry Mainly retail and service industries, with some light industry, market gardens and vineyards.

Simpkins, L (LP) 2007-
Edwards, G (ALP) 1998-2007
Evans, R (LP) 1993-1998
Jakobsen, C A (ALP) 1984-1993

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Linking to the AEC  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top