Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 22/09/2010 9:13:21 AM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name MACQUARIE
State New South Wales
Elected Member Markus, L (LP) 2010-
Name Derivation Named after Governor Lachlan Macquarie 1761-1824, Governor of New South Wales 1810-21.
First Proclaimed / Election 1900/1901
Area 4374 sq. kms
Demographic Provincial
Pre-Election Seat Status Marginal
Seat Status Marginal
Enrolment 97,536
Turnout 94.81%
Informal 5.48%
Location Macquarie covers an area of approximately 4374 sq km from the Hawkesbury and Nepean Rivers in the east the Blue Mountains City Council border in the west. The Wollemi and Yengo National Parks form the northern border and the Coxs River, Lake Burragorang and Warragamba River form the southern border. The Division encompasses the Blue Mountains City Council and Hawkesbury City Council areas. Suburbs and towns include: Blackheath, Blaxland, Bligh Park, Glenbrook, Katoomba, McGraths Hill, North Richmond, Pitt Town, Richmond, Springwood and Windsor.
Products and Industry Tourism, mixed farming, arts and crafts, horse breeding and training, printing and publishing, small manufacturing, higher education with the University of Western Sydney Richmond Campus. Macquarie is also home to the Glenbrook and Richmond RAAF bases.

Markus, L (LP) 2010-
Debus, R (ALP) 2007-2010
Bartlett, K (LP) 1996-2007
Deahm, M J (ALP) 1993-1996
Webster, A (LP) 1984-1993
Free, R V (ALP) 1980-1984
Gillard, R (LP) 1975-1980
Luchetti, A S (ALP) 1951-1975
Chifley, J B (ALP) 1940-1951
Lawson, J N (UAP) 1931-1940
Chifley, J B (ALP) 1928-1931
Manning, A G (NAT) 1922-1928
Nicholls, S R (ALP) 1917-1922
Carr, E S (ALP) 1906-1917
Smith, S (FT) 1901-1906

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Linking to the AEC  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top