Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 10/09/2010 9:38:30 AM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name DAWSON
State Queensland
Elected Member Christensen, G (LNQ) 2010-
Name Derivation Named after Andrew (Anderson) Dawson 1863-1910, Queensland's first Labor Premier 1899.
First Proclaimed / Election 1949
Area 14945 sq. kms
Demographic Rural
Pre-Election Seat Status Marginal
Seat Status Marginal
Enrolment 94,533
Turnout 93.11%
Informal 5.76%
Location Dawson covers an area of approximately 14,945 sq km from Mackay to Chelona in the south, and to Oonoonba in the north. It also includes the Whitsunday and Lindeman group of islands. Main towns include Proserpine, Airlie Beach, Bowen, Home Hill and Ayr, as well as the city of Mackay.
Products and Industry Various small crops, prawn and fish farms, sugar growing and refining, beef cattle, coal mining related industries, abattoirs and tourism.

Christensen, G (LNQ) 2010-
Bidgood, J (ALP) 2007-2010
Kelly, D (NP) 1996-2007
Braithwaite, R A (NP) 1975-1996
Patterson, R A (ALP) 1966-1975
Shaw, G W (CP) 1963-1966
Davidson, C W (CP) 1949-1963

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Linking to the AEC  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top