Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 10/09/2010 12:55:34 PM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name CORIO
State Victoria
Elected Member Marles, R (ALP) 2010-
Name Derivation Named after Corio Bay which originated from an Aboriginal word 'coraiyo' meaning 'small marsupial' or 'sandy cliffs'.
First Proclaimed / Election 1900/1901
Area 815 sq. kms
Demographic Provincial
Pre-Election Seat Status Fairly Safe
Seat Status Safe
Enrolment 91,924
Turnout 94.17%
Informal 4.51%
Location Corio covers an area of approximately 815 sq km from the western shores of Port Phillip Bay, stretching to the north of Geelong and inland and covering part of the Bellarine Peninsula. Suburbs and towns include Anakie (part), Avalon, Batesford (part), Bell Park, Bell Post Hill, Breakwater, Clifton Springs (part), Corio, Curlewis (part), Drysdale (part), Fyansford (part), East Geelong, Geelong, North Geelong, South Geelong, Geelong West, Hamlyn Heights, Herne Hill, Lara, Leopold (part), Lovely Banks, Manifold Heights, Moolap, Newcomb, Newtown (part), Norlane, North Shore, St Albans Park, Rippleside, Thomson (part) and Whittington.
Products and Industry Many industries, including stevedoring, vehicle manufacturing plant, glass works, aluminium smelter, petroleum refinery, woollen mills, saltworks, dairy, poultry and mussel farming, fishing, wood chipping, wool scouring, fertiliser refining, tourism, tannery, carpet, clothing, shoes, chemical production and aeronautical services.

Marles, R (ALP) 2010-
Marles, R (ALP) 2007-2010
O'Connor, G (ALP) 1993-2007
Scholes, G G D (ALP) 1967-1993
Opperman, H F (LP) 1949-1967
Dedman, J J (ALP) 1940-1949
Casey, R G (UAP) 1931-1940
Lewis, A (ALP) 1929-1931
Lister, J H (NAT) 1917-1929
Ozanne, A T (ALP) 1914-1917
Kendell, W (LIB) 1913-1914
Ozanne, A T (ALP) 1910-1913
Crouch, R A (PROT) 1901-1910

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Linking to the AEC  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top