Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: Wednesday, 16 October 2013 05:32:57 PM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name GRIFFITH
State Queensland
Elected Member Rudd, K (ALP) 1998-
Name Derivation Named after Sir Samuel Griffith 1845-1920, Premier of Queensland 1883-88, 1890-93 and Chief Justice of the High Court of Australia 1903-19.
First Proclaimed / Election 1934 (Griffith became a division in 1934 but was previously known as Oxley which became a division in 1900.)
Area 60 sq. kms
Demographic Outer Metropolitan
Pre-Election Seat Status Fairly Safe
Seat Status Marginal
Enrolment 97,413
Turnout 93.14%
Informal 4.76%
Location Griffith covers an area of approximately 60 sq km of the southern Brisbane suburban area. The main suburbs include Balmoral, Bulimba, Camp Hill, Carina Heights, Coorparoo, Dutton Park, East Brisbane, Greenslopes, Highgate Hill, Hawthorne, Kangaroo Point, Morningside, Norman Park, Seven Hills, South Brisbane, Woolloongabba and parts of Annerley, Cannon Hill, Carina, Holland Park, Holland Park West, Mount Gravatt East, Murarrie, Tarragindi and West End.
Products and Industry The area is mostly residential with some food processing and light industry. It is also the location of the world famous Brisbane Cricket Ground known as The Gabba.

Rudd, K (ALP) 1998-
McDougall, G (LP) 1996-1998
Humphreys, B C (ALP) 1977-1996
Cameron, D M (LP) 1966-1977
Coutts, W C (ALP) 1961-1966
Chresby, A A (LP) 1958-1961
Coutts, W C (ALP) 1954-1958
Berry, D R (LP) 1949-1954
Conelan, W P (ALP) 1939-1949
Baker, F M (FLP) 1934-1939

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Linking to the AEC  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top