Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: Monday, 30 September 2013 01:30:21 PM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
State South Australia
Elected Member Butler, M (ALP) 2007-
Name Derivation Named after the locality which was discovered by Collet Barker in 1831.
First Proclaimed / Election 1949
Area 181 sq. kms
Demographic Inner Metropolitan
Pre-Election Seat Status Safe
Seat Status Safe
Enrolment 105,256
Turnout 92.17%
Informal 6.20%
Location Port Adelaide covers an area of approximately 181 sq km from Buckland Park in the north down to Grange Road in the south whilst its eastern boundary takes in parts of Salisbury. The area also includes Torrens Island and Garden Island. Other suburbs in this division are Alberton, Beverley, Birkenhead, Cheltenham, Findon, Kilkenny, Largs Bay, Mansfield Park, North Haven, Ottoway, Parafield Gardens, Paralowie, Pennington, Port Adelaide, Queenstown, Rosewater, Salisbury Downs, Seaton (part), Semaphore, Woodville and West Croydon.
Products and Industry Brewere, cement, commercial fishing, electricity generation, flour mills, grain bulk handling, heavy engineering, manufacturing industry, motion picture production, petroleum storage, police academy, salt, shipping, stevedoring, warship & submarine construction, waste disposal and wool stores.

Butler, M (ALP) 2007-
Sawford, R (ALP) 1988-2007
Young, M J (ALP) 1974-1988
Birrell, F R (ALP) 1963-1974
Thompson, A V (ALP) 1949-1963

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Linking to the AEC  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top