Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: Tuesday, 01 October 2013 10:06:12 AM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name DENISON
State Tasmania
Elected Member Wilkie, A (IND) 2010-
Name Derivation Named after Sir William Denison 1804-71, Lieutenant-Governor of Tasmania 1847-55 and Governor of New South Wales 1855-61.
First Proclaimed / Election 1903
Area 289 sq. kms
Demographic Inner Metropolitan
Pre-Election Seat Status Marginal
Seat Status Safe
Enrolment 71,804
Turnout 94.26%
Informal 4.22%
Location Denison covers an area of approximately 289 sq km from Austins Ferry in the north to Kingston in the south, from Hobart in the east to Collinsvale in the west. The City of Hobart and environs, the City of Glenorchy and parts of the Kingborough municipality are in this division.
Products and Industry Banking and retail, chocolate and confectionery, catamaran construction, brewery, zinc works, food and timber processing, heavy transport, wholesale trade, engineering works, glass products and port facilities at Hobart.

Wilkie, A (IND) 2010-
Kerr, D (ALP) 1987-2010
Hodgman, W M (LP) 1975-1987
Coates, J (ALP) 1972-1975
Solomon, R J (LP) 1969-1972
Gibson, A (LP) 1964-1969
Townley, A G (LP) 1949-1963
Gaha, J F (ALP) 1943-1949
Beck, A J (UAP) 1940-1943
Mahoney, G W (ALP) 1934-1940
Hutchin, A W (UAP) 1931-1934
Culley, C E (ALP) 1928-1931
Gellibrand, J (NAT) 1925-1928
O'Keefe, D J (ALP) 1922-1925
Smith, W H (ALP/NAT) 1910-1922
Fysh, P (PROT/ANTI-SOC) 1903-1910

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Linking to the AEC  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top