Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: Tuesday, 01 October 2013 11:32:28 AM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name DEAKIN
State Victoria
Elected Member Sukkar, M (LP) 2013-
Name Derivation Named after Alfred Deakin 1856-1919, Prime Minister of Australia 1903-04, 1905-08 and 1909-10.
First Proclaimed / Election 1936/1937
Area 70 sq. kms
Demographic Outer Metropolitan
Pre-Election Seat Status Marginal
Seat Status Marginal
Enrolment 97,381
Turnout 94.71%
Informal 4.33%
Location The Division of Deakin is located in Melbourne's eastern suburbs. It covers an area of approximately 70 sq km from Blackburn in the west to Croydon in the east. The main suburbs include Bayswater North (part), Blackburn, Blackburn North, Croydon (part), Croydon South (part), Forest Hill (part), Heathmont, Mitcham, Nunawading, Ringwood, Ringwood East, Ringwood North (part), Vermont and Vermont South.
Products and Industry Mainly residential with some light manufacturing, commercial and retail industries.

Sukkar, M (LP) 2013-
Symon, M (ALP) 2007-2013
Barresi, P (LP) 1996-2007
Aldred, K J (LP) 1990-1996
Beale, J H (LP) 1984-1990
Saunderson, J (ALP) 1983-1984
Jarman, A W (LP) 1966-1983
Davis, F J (LP) 1949-1966
Hutchinson, W J (LP) 1937-1949

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Linking to the AEC  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top