Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: Wednesday, 02 October 2013 05:57:17 PM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name LALOR
State Victoria
Elected Member Ryan, J (ALP) 2013-
Name Derivation Named after Peter Lalor 1827-89, leader of the Eureka Stockade rebellion in 1854. In 1855 he was one of the first representatives from the goldfields elected to the Victorian Legislative Council.
First Proclaimed / Election 1948/1949
Area 546 sq. kms
Demographic Outer Metropolitan
Pre-Election Seat Status Safe
Seat Status Safe
Enrolment 107,392
Turnout 93.13%
Informal 6.63%
Location The Division of Lalor is located to the south-west of Melbourne. It covers an area of approximately 546 sq km. Lalor is a rapidly expanding area extending from Port Phillip Bay inland. The main suburbs include part of Altona Meadows and Truganina and all of Hoppers Crossing, Laverton, Laverton North, Little River, Point Cook, Seabrook, Tarneit, Werribee, Werribee South, Williams Landing and Wyndham Vale. Rural areas of Eynesbury (part), Mount Cottrell (part), Quandong, Mambourin and Cocoroc are also included.
Products and Industry Some heavy industries and manufacturing, market gardening, wineries, Melbourne's water treatment plant, Werribee Racecourse and Werribee Park National Equestrian Centre, Werribee Mercy Hospital, University of Melbourne Veterinary School, Agriculture and Food Technology Precinct, tertiary education facilities, Werribee Open Range Zoo, tourism precincts including beaches, retail precincts and shopping centres.

Ryan, J (ALP) 2013-
Gillard, J (ALP) 1998-2013
Jones, B O (ALP) 1977-1998
Cairns, J F (ALP) 1969-1977
Lee, M W (LP) 1966-1969
Pollard, R T (ALP) 1949-1966

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Linking to the AEC  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top