Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: Tuesday, 01 October 2013 11:45:00 AM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name TANGNEY
State Western Australia
Elected Member Jensen, D (LP) 2004-
Name Derivation Named after Dame Dorothy Tangney 1911-85, first woman member of the Australian Senate 1943-68.
First Proclaimed / Election 1973/1974
Area 96 sq. kms
Demographic Inner Metropolitan
Pre-Election Seat Status Safe
Seat Status Safe
Enrolment 94,809
Turnout 93.85%
Informal 4.17%
Location Tangney covers an area of approximately 96 sq km from the Swan and Canning Rivers to the north and east. The main suburbs include Applecross, Alfred Cove, Ardross, Attadale, Bateman, Booragoon, Bull Creek, Canning Vale, Kardinya (part), Leeming, Melville, Mount Pleasant, Murdoch, Myaree, Parkwood, Riverton, Rossmoyne, Shelley, Willetton and Winthrop. Most are fully built up areas with the exception of Canning Vale which is showing strong housing growth with many new developments.
Products and Industry Some light industry and commercial businesses in Canning Vale, Willetton and Myaree with standard suburban housing throughout the remainder. Murdoch University and St John of God Hospital, Murdoch are located in the south-west of the division.

Jensen, D (LP) 2004-
Williams, D (LP) 1993-2004
Shack, P D (LP) 1984-1993
Gear, G (ALP) 1983-1984
Shack, P D (LP) 1977-1983
Richardson, P A (LP/IND) 1975-1977
Dawkins, J S (ALP) 1974-1975

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Linking to the AEC  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top