Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: Friday, 09 October 2015 01:14:15 PM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name CANNING
State Western Australia
Elected Member Hastie, A (LP) 2015-
Name Derivation Named after Alfred Canning 1860-1936, surveyor who pioneered stock roads and rabbit proof fences in Western Australia.
First Proclaimed / Election 1948/1949
Area 6178 sq. kms
Demographic Outer Metropolitan
Pre-Election Seat Status Safe
Seat Status Marginal
Enrolment 112,824
Turnout 79.52%
Informal 5.66%
Location Canning covers an area of approximately 6 178 sq km from the south-east metropolitan areas of Perth to the adjoining rural areas in the east and south, including the Shires of Serpentine-Jarrahdale, Murray and Waroona. The main suburbs include Armadale, Mandurah, Kelmscott, Roleystone, Westfield and Wungong. Other localities include Byford, Cardup, Dwellingup, Forrestdale, Halls Head, Jarrahdale, Mundijong, North Dandalup, Oakford, Pinjarra, Ravenswood, Serpentine, Waroona and Yunderup.
Products and Industry Some heavy and light industry, bauxite mining, stone and citrus fruits, beef and dairy farming, market gardens and forestry.

Hastie, A (LP) 2015-
Randall, D (LP) 2001-2015
Gerick, J (ALP) 1998-2001
Johnston, R (LP) 1996-1998
Gear, G (ALP) 1984-1996
Fatin, W F (ALP) 1983-1984
Bungey, M H (LP) 1974-1983
Hallet, J M (CP) 1963-1974
McNeill, N (LP) 1961-1963
Hamilton, L W (CP) 1949-1961

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Linking to the AEC  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top