Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 9/11/2005 10:22:10 AM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name HUME
State New South Wales
Elected Member Schultz, A (LP) 1998-
Name Derivation Named after Hamilton Hume 1797-1873, an early explorer.
First Proclaimed / Election 1901
Area 25948 sq. kms
Demographic Rural
Seat Status Safe
Enrolment 89,580
Turnout 95.57%
Informal 5.45%
Location Hume covers an area of approximately 25 948 sq km from Warragamba in the north to Yass in the south and from Bowral in the east to Young in the west. The main towns include Appin, Berrima, Boorowa, Bowral, Crookwell, Harden/Murrumburrah, Mittagong, Picton, Warragamba, Yass, Young and the City of Goulburn.
Products and Industry The main industry in the north of the division is coal mining, with mines operating at Tahmoor, Wilton, Appin and along the Burragorang Valley. The division also produces fat lambs, fruit, vegetables, timber and textiles and is a centre for fine wool, dairying, horse-breeding/agistment and tourism.

SCHULTZ, A (LP) 1998-
SHARP, J (NP) 1993-1998
FIFE, W C (LP) 1984-1993
LUSHER, S A (CP/NCP/NP) 1974-1984
OLLEY, F (ALP) 1972-1974
PETTITT, J A (CP) 1963-1972
FULLER, A N (ALP) 1961-1963
ANDERSON, C G W (CP) 1955-1961
FULLER, A N (ALP) 1951-1955
ANDERSON, C G W (CP) 1949-1951
FULLER, A N (ALP) 1943-1949
COLLINS, T J (CP) 1931-1943
MOLONEY, P J (ALP) 1919-1931
FALKINER, F B S (NAT) 1917-1919
PATTEN, R (LIB) 1913-1917
LYNE, W J (PROT/IND) 1901-1913

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top