Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 9/11/2005 10:22:10 AM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name PARRAMATTA
State New South Wales
Elected Member Owens, J (ALP) 2004-
Name Derivation Named after the locality of Parramatta which was first settled in 1788. The name is Aboriginal for 'plenty of eels' or 'head of river'.
First Proclaimed / Election 1900/1901
Area 61 sq. kms
Demographic Inner Metropolitan
Seat Status Marginal
Enrolment 87,117
Turnout 94.13%
Informal 8.53%
Location Parramatta covers an area of approximately 61 sq km from Wharf Rd Ermington in the east to Girraween Creek, Toongabbie in the west and from North Rocks Rd Carlingford in the north to the M4 Motorway in the south. The main suburbs include Carlingford, Dundas, Dundas Valley, Ermington, Girraween, Harris Park, North Parramatta, North Rocks, Northmead, Oatlands, Old Toongabbie, Parramatta, Pendle Hill, Rosehill, Rydalmere, Telopea, Toongabbie, Wentworthville, Westmead and Winston Hills.
Products and Industry Retail, financial services, transport industry, building materials, plant nurseries, major industry and tourism.

OWENS, J (ALP) 2004-
CAMERON, R (LP) 1996-2004
ELLIOTT, R P (ALP) 1990-1996
BROWN, J J (ALP) 1977-1990
RUDDOCK, P M (LP) 1973-1977
BOWEN, N H (LP) 1964-1973
BARWICK, G E (LP) 1958-1964
BEALE, O H (LP) 1946-1958
STEWART, F H (UAP) 1931-1946
ROWE, A E (ALP) 1929-1931
BOWDEN, E K (NAT) 1922-1929
PRATTEN, H E (NAT) 1921-1922

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top