Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 9/11/2005 10:22:11 AM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name MCEWEN
State Victoria
Elected Member Bailey, F (LP) 1996-
Name Derivation Named after Sir John McEwen 1900-80, who served as caretaker Prime Minister of Australia for three weeks 1967-68.
First Proclaimed / Election 1984
Area 10675 sq. kms
Demographic Rural
Seat Status Fairly Safe
Enrolment 95,402
Turnout 96.11%
Informal 4.66%
Location McEwen covers an area of 10 675 sq kms from Seymour in the north to Powelltown in the south, and from Woodend in the west to Alexandra in the east. The main towns and localities include Alexandra, Broadford, Diamond Creek, Eildon, Gisborne, Healesville, Lancefield, Hurstbridge, Kilmore, Macedon, Marysville, Riddells Creek, Romsey, Seymour, Wallan, Warburton, Whittlesea, Woodend, Woori Yallock, Yarra Glen, Yarra Junction and Yea.
Products and Industry Cattle grazing, wool growing, forestry, market gardening, wines, sawmills, dairying, various small businesses and tourism.

BAILEY, F (LP) 1996-
CLEELAND, P R (ALP) 1993-1996
BAILEY, F E (LP) 1990-1993
CLEELAND, P R (ALP) 1984-1990

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top