Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 9/11/2005 10:21:52 AM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name WATSON
State New South Wales
Elected Member Burke, T (ALP) 2004-
Name Derivation Named after John Watson 1867-1941, Prime Minister of Australia 27 April-12 August 1904.
First Proclaimed / Election 1992/1993 (Watson became a division in 1992 but was previously known as St George which became a division in 1948.)
Area 33 sq. kms
Demographic Inner Metropolitan
Seat Status Safe
Enrolment 81,819
Turnout 92.68%
Informal 9.10%
Location Watson covers an area of approximately 33 sq km bordered by Punchbowl Road, Cooks River, Georges River Road, Hay St, King Georges Road, Wolli Creek, Bardwell Creek, Preddys Road, Forest Road, Xenia Ave and Illawarra rail-line. The main suburbs include Bardwell Park, Belfield, Belmore, Beverly Hills, Bexley North, Campsie, Canterbury, Croydon Park, Earlwood, Hurstville, Kingsgrove, Lakemba, and Roselands.
Products and Industry Light manufacturing and service industries.

BURKE, T (ALP) 2004-
MCLEAY, L (ALP) 1993-2004

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top