Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 18/12/2007 4:29:10 PM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name SYDNEY
State New South Wales
Elected Member Plibersek, T (ALP) 1998-
Name Derivation Named after the city of Sydney, which was named in 1788 by Captain Arthur Phillip after Viscount Sydney, then British Home Secretary.
First Proclaimed / Election 1968/1969
Area 43 sq. kms
Demographic Inner Metropolitan
Pre-Election Seat Status Safe
Seat Status Safe
Enrolment 87,904
Turnout 90.84%
Informal 4.12%
Location Sydney covers an area of approximately 43 sq km from Port Jackson (Sydney Harbour) in the north to Alexandria, Beaconsfield and Zetland in the south. Bounded in the east by South Dowling Street, Flinders Street, Oxford Street, Riley Street, Boomerang Place, Haig Lane, Sir John Young Crescent, Lincoln Crescent and Woolloomooloo Bay, the division extends to Annandale and Rozelle in the west. The main suburbs include Alexandria, Balmain, Beaconsfield, Birchgrove, Broadway, Chippendale, Darlington, Erskineville, Forest Lodge, Glebe, Haymarket, Millers Point, Pyrmont, Redfern, Surry Hills, The Rocks, Ultimo, Waterloo, Zetland and parts of Annandale, Camperdown, Darlinghurst, Kings Cross, Macdonaldtown, Newtown, Rozelle and Woolloomooloo. Lord Howe Island is in the Division of Sydney as are the harbour islands from Spectacle Island to the Heads.
Products and Industry Commercial, financial, retail, merchandising, service, transport, entertainment and shipping industries.

Plibersek, T (ALP) 1998-
Baldwin, P (ALP) 1983-1998
McMahon, J L (ALP) 1975-1983
Cope, J F (ALP) 1969-1975

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Linking to the AEC  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top