Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 13/09/2010 7:10:06 PM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name KENNEDY
State Queensland
Elected Member Katter, B (IND/NP) 1993-
Name Derivation Named after Edmund Kennedy 1818-48, explorer.
First Proclaimed / Election 1900/1901
Area 568993 sq. kms
Demographic Rural
Pre-Election Seat Status Safe
Seat Status Safe
Enrolment 94,434
Turnout 91.46%
Informal 5.38%
Location Kennedy covers an area of approximately 568,993 sq km from the Gulf of Carpentaria and Mareeba in the north, to Boulia in the south, and from the Queensland border in the west to the Pacific Ocean in the east. The main towns include Atherton, Babinda, Camooweal, Charters Towers, Cloncurry, Georgetown, Gordonvale, Hughenden, Ingham, Innisfail, Mareeba, Mount Isa, Normanton and Tully.
Products and Industry Mainly primary production including grains (sorghum, sunflowers, wheat), beef cattle, cotton, coal mining, gemstones, sheep, sugar, agricultural services, copper, gold, silver, tin, lead, zinc, uranium, fishing (prawns, crabs, barramundi), marble, tobacco, fruit and vegetables, peanuts, dairy products and tourism.

Katter, B (IND/NP) 1993-
Hulls, R J (ALP) 1990-1993
Katter, R C (NP) 1966-1990
Riordan, W J F (FLP/ALP) 1936-1966
Riordan, D (FLP/ALP) 1929-1936
Francis, G A (NAT) 1925-1929
McDonald, C (ALP) 1901-1925

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Linking to the AEC  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top