Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 14/09/2010 2:40:18 PM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name BATMAN
State Victoria
Elected Member Ferguson, M (ALP) 2010-
Name Derivation Named after John Batman 1801-39, the early settler and explorer, known as the 'Founder of Melbourne'.
First Proclaimed / Election 1906
Area 53 sq. kms
Demographic Inner Metropolitan
Pre-Election Seat Status Safe
Seat Status Fairly Safe
Enrolment 89,131
Turnout 91.62%
Informal 5.15%
Location The Division of Batman is located in Melbourne's northern suburbs. It covers an area of approximately 53 sq km from Reservoir in the north to Northcote in the south, with Merri Creek providing the western boundary and Darebin Creek and part of Macleod providing the eastern boundary. The suburbs of Alphington (part), Bundoora (part), Coburg North (part), Fairfield (part), Kingsbury, Macleod (part), Northcote, Preston, Reservoir and Thornbury are in this division.
Products and Industry Light engineering, textiles, clothing and footwear.

Ferguson, M (ALP) 2010-
Ferguson, M (ALP) 1996-2010
Howe, B L (ALP) 1977-1996
Garrick, H J (ALP) 1969-1977
Benson, S J (ALP/IND) 1962-1969
Bird, A C (ALP) 1949-1962
Brennan, F (FLP/ALP) 1934-1949
Dennis, S (UAP) 1931-1934
Brennan, F (ALP) 1911-1931
Beard, H E (ALP) 1910-1910
Coon, J (PROT) 1906-1910

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Linking to the AEC  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top