Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 10/09/2010 9:20:46 AM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name LYNE
State New South Wales
Elected Member Oakeshott, R (IND) 2008-
Name Derivation Named after Sir William Lyne 1844-1913, Premier of New South Wales 1899-1901.
First Proclaimed / Election 1949
Area 11991 sq. kms
Demographic Rural
Pre-Election Seat Status Fairly Safe
Seat Status Safe
Enrolment 92,535
Turnout 95.38%
Informal 3.73%
Location Lyne covers an area of approximately 11,991 sq km from Crescent Head in the north to the southern boundaries of Greater Taree City Council & Gloucester Council in the south and inland to the western boundaries of Greater Taree, Port Macquarie - Hastings and Kempsey Shire Councils. The main towns include Bonny Hills, Crescent Head, Gloucester, Harrington, Kendall, Lake Cathie, Laurieton, North Haven, Old Bar, Port Macquarie, Taree, Wauchope and Wingham.
Products and Industry Timber, beef/dairy cattle, mixed farming, fishing and oyster farming, boat building, engineering, mining and tourism.

Oakeshott, R (IND) 2008-
Vaile, M (NP) 1993-2008
Cowan, D B (NCP/NP) 1980-1993
Lucock, P E (CP/NCP) 1952-1980
Eggins, E J (CP) 1949-1952

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Linking to the AEC  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top