Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 28/09/2010 4:09:37 PM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name MARANOA
State Queensland
Elected Member Scott, B (NP) 1990-
Name Derivation Named after the district name which was taken from the Maranoa River which passes through the area. The river was discovered by Sir Thomas Mitchell in 1846 and retained its Aboriginal name.
First Proclaimed / Election 1900/1901
Area 731297 sq. kms
Demographic Rural
Pre-Election Seat Status Safe
Seat Status Safe
Enrolment 97,892
Turnout 93.65%
Informal 4.94%
Location Maranoa covers an area of approximately 731,297 sq km from the Northern Territory, South Australian and New South Wales borders to Diamantina in the north and Nanango, Warwick and Stanthorpe in the east. The main towns include Charleville, Chinchilla, Cunnamulla, Dalby, Goondiwindi, Kingaroy, Miles, Roma, St George, Stanthorpe, Tara, Thargomindah and Warwick.
Products and Industry Mainly primary production including coal, oil, gas, orchards, cotton, grain, cattle and sheep.

Scott, B (NP) 1990-
Cameron, I M D (NCP/NP) 1980-1990
Corbett, J (CP/NCP) 1966-1980
Brimblecombe, W J (CP) 1951-1966
Russell, C W (CP) 1949-1951
Adermann, C F (CP) 1943-1949
Baker, F P (ALP) 1940-1943
Hunter, J A J (CP) 1921-1940
Page, J (ALP) 1901-1921

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Linking to the AEC  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top