Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 28/09/2010 12:18:08 PM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name WANNON
State Victoria
Elected Member Tehan, D (LP) 2010-
Name Derivation Named after the Wannon River which was named by Major Mitchell in 1836.
First Proclaimed / Election 1900/1901
Area 33854 sq. kms
Demographic Rural
Pre-Election Seat Status Fairly Safe
Seat Status Fairly Safe
Enrolment 92,236
Turnout 95.33%
Informal 5.32%
Location Wannon covers an area of approximately 33 854 sq km from the southern coastline of Victoria, to the northern boundaries of Glenelg Shire, Southern Grampians Shire and Pyrenees Shire and takes in the southern part of the Northern Grampians Shire. From the South Australian border the division extends to the eastern boundaries of Pyrenees Shire and Corangamite Shire at which point it also includes a small section of the Colac-Otway Shire. The region is generally known as the 'Western District'. The main towns and areas of interest include Ararat, Avoca, Camperdown, Great Western, Halls Gap, Hamilton, Koroit, Port Campbell, Port Fairy, Portland, Stawell, Terang and Warrnambool.
Products and Industry Shipping, including live sheep exports, grain, meat and dairy exports, fine wool, beef and dairy cattle, cropping, forestry, aluminium smelting, gold mining, mineral sand mining, textiles and clothing, tool manufacturing, wineries and tourism. Grampians National Park, the coastal rock formations known as the Twelve Apostles, the Southern Right whale nursery at Warrnambool, numerous wineries at Great Western and Avoca, gold mines at Stawell, Port Fairy township, coastal wind farm, and numerous extinct volcanoes, are significant tourist attractions within the division.

Tehan, D (LP) 2010-
Hawker, D (LP) 1983-2010
Fraser, J M (LP) 1955-1983
McLeod, D (ALP) 1951-1955
McKinnon, E D (LP) 1949-1951
McLeod, D (ALP) 1940-1949
Scholfield, T H (UAP) 1931-1940
McNeill, J (ALP) 1929-1931
Rodgers, A S (NP) 1925-1929
McNeill, J (ALP) 1922-1925
Rodgers, A S (LIB/NAT) 1913-1922
McDougall, J K (ALP) 1906-1913
Robinson, A (FT) 1903-1906
Cooke, S W (FT) 1901-1903

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Linking to the AEC  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top