Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: 28/09/2010 4:26:11 PM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name PERTH
State Western Australia
Elected Member Smith, S (ALP) 2010-
Name Derivation Named after the city of Perth which was founded in 1829 under Lieutenant-Governor James Stirling, who became Governor in 1831.
First Proclaimed / Election 1901
Area 78 sq. kms
Demographic Inner Metropolitan
Pre-Election Seat Status Fairly Safe
Seat Status Marginal
Enrolment 91,907
Turnout 92.04%
Informal 5.20%
Location Perth covers an area of approximately 78 sq km bordered by the Swan River to the south and east, the Mitchell Freeway and Charles Street to the west and the suburbs of Morley and Beechboro to the north. Suburbs include the districts of Ashfield, Bassendean, Bayswater, Bedford, Beechboro, East Perth, Eden Hill, Embleton, Highgate, Inglewood, Kiara, Lockridge, Maylands, Morley, Mt Lawley, Naranda, Northbridge, and parts of Dianella, Menora, North Perth, Perth City, West Perth and Yokine.
Products and Industry Perth City is Western Australia's centre of Government and contains the State's commercial and professional district. Government House, parks and gardens combined with the city shopping complex are a feature of the division. Perth is the western gateway into Australia and has a thriving tourist industry.

Smith, S (ALP) 2010-
Smith, S (ALP) 1993-2010
Charlesworth, R (ALP) 1983-1993
McLean, R M (LP) 1975-1983
Berinson, J M (ALP) 1969-1975
Chaney, F C (LP) 1955-1969
Burke, T P (ALP) 1943-1955
Nairn, W M (NAT/UAP) 1929-1943
Mann, E A (NAT) 1922-1929
Fowler, J (ALP/LIB/NAT) 1901-1922

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Linking to the AEC  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top