Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
Virtual Tally Room: the official election results
House of Representatives Updated: Monday, 30 September 2013 02:38:51 PM


  Help and Notes 
Division Profile
Division Name MCEWEN
State Victoria
Elected Member Mitchell, R (ALP) 2010-
Name Derivation Named after Sir John McEwen 1900-80, who served as caretaker Prime Minister of Australia for three weeks 1967-68.
First Proclaimed / Election 1984
Area 4592 sq. kms
Demographic Rural
Pre-Election Seat Status Fairly Safe
Seat Status Marginal
Enrolment 112,012
Turnout 94.79%
Informal 4.62%
Location The Division of McEwen is located north of Melbourne in central Victoria. It covers an area of 4 592 sq kms from Seymour in the north to Sunbury and Bulla in the south-west to Craigieburn in the south and Lancefield in the west to Reedy Creek in the east. The main towns and localities include Broadford, Craigieburn, Doreen, Kilmore, Lancefield, New Gisborne, Riddells Creek, Romsey, Seymour, Sunbury, Wallan and Whittlesea.
Products and Industry Cattle grazing, wool growing, market gardening, wines, dairying, various small businesses and tourism.

Mitchell, R (ALP) 2010-
Bailey, F (LP) 1996-2010
Cleeland, P R (ALP) 1993-1996
Bailey, F E (LP) 1990-1993
Cleeland, P R (ALP) 1984-1990

Please Note: the division profile displayed above was at the time of the election. Please consult the AEC website for the most current division profile.



  Australian Electoral Commission  |   Feedback  |   Privacy  |   Copyright  |   Linking to the AEC  |   Disclaimer  |   Skip to Top